For those of you who follow me on Facebook, you know that I have been trying to do a first edit of my manuscript. I shouldn’t say “trying.” I AM doing it, but God, it’s a rough process. A process that I hate.

The manuscript was about 280 pages long. If I had to guess, I think it might be like 250ish now. I have forty more pages to edit, and thirty more pages of already-edited pages to actually correct on my computer. At the end of the day, I am almost done. ALMOST.

Except I forget that I am going to have to print this out all over again and edit once more, from the top, repeating the dreadful process all over again. On top of this, I have to wait for my loving fiance to finish doing his once-overs of my chapters, which is turning out to be a slow process.

I’ve been getting mixed advice about having my manuscript professionally edited or not. I found a great editor with more than thirty years’ experience who could take up my manuscript for a somewhat reasonable fee. I was all on board with doing that…I still kind of am after reading from literary agent and publisher’s websites that it is a very good idea, especially when you do not have a system of reliable people to run your writing through yet. I do not have this system. I have sent my manuscript to four people and asked them to read and critique it. One did that for half the novel, then dropped off and went back to doing her own thing, one read it and gave me some critique over the phone, but it is not what I needed, and the other two have yet to do anything. It’s very frustrating, especially when you are trying to jump into a market wave stirring up in the next year. I found this website very helpful, but I still have not made up my mind.

So what now? I really need to be proactive and find myself SOMEONE who is going to read my manuscript and critique it — not sit on it. I also want to get the whole thing through its first edit by the end of this week. Classes start the second-to-last week of this month. I don’t have much time before I, well, lose my free time.

Wish me luck. Happy writing.

PS: Please read up on my lovely author friend, Stephanie Draven, and her interview here!

Stephanie Draven

