Tags

, ,

Today I finished reading Vicki Hopkins’ The Price of Innocence. It was a good read, one that I managed to finish in a couple of days. There were a few disappointments, but I believe that Hopkins has another edition of her book coming out that might address the issues of typos and some plot holes.

All-in-all, if I had to rate it one through five, I would give it a three. The ending moved way too quickly for me to enjoy, in fact, it frustrated me more than anything. The strong characterization of Suzette in the beginning of the book deteriorated towards the end of the book. I couldn’t grasp her sudden change in demeanor and morality, though I am not sure the plot would move forward without the changes.

The storyline was unique in itself, and I think that is what kept me reading and wanting to know more. If I had to sum it up on one sentence, it would be: The story of a young girl who comes to discover the true meaning of love after unknowingly being caught in the throes of fate and passion, taking her from homelessness and prostitution to a world she never knew. Long sentence, I know. I still do not think that it justifies the summary of the story, though. Because of the weak, semi-third person limited, then the sudden shift to omniscient POV, it skews whose story it really should be, and pulls away from the main drama of the plot. I would have liked to see this solely from Suzette’s point of view, which would, in turn, connect me more with her feelings and motives.

Would I recommend this book to others? Yes. Hopkins did paint a beautiful world of love and deceit in Paris, and I have a soft spot for all things Parisian. The characters are deliciously manipulative and innocent, and the plot keeps the audience at the edges of their seats as they are exposed to the gritty and unforgiving life of a victim of happenstance. I don’t think readers would be disappointed in their purchase, so help a gal out and go buy her book!

