One more day until I am flying off to Orlando to join the hundreds of other wonderful women (and men!) of the Romance Writers Association. This will be my first RWA conference, and I’m really excited and already pretty darned overwhelmed!

I am more excited about the fact that I WAS OFFERED REPRESENTATION ON SATURDAY while driving up 83 to attend my mother-in-law’s sudden wedding, which is a story within and of itself. But, an agent!

As everyone has probably been there before, I was starting to get a little discouraged by so many rejections, especially when they seemed to get so close and then nothing of fruition came of it. So, when I did some research on the wonderful Robert Brown, I figured why not send him a query, as he was familiar with Harlequin and seemed a great match.

This time, though, I wanted to experiment. I didn’t want to do this all uppity and formal, as uppity and formal wasn’t getting me anywhere. Instead, I sent a query that was more laid-back and truthful — that I was in a confusion spot in my career, being between contracts and a little turned around, and I could really use a guiding hand.

Robert loved my work, and seems more than willing to be a guiding hand, so I am so happy that I ran across his agent profile (thanks to twitter!), and even happier that he’s giving me a chance.

Rome - Palatino Bench


My thesis advisor keeps sending me emails with all-caps WOOHOOS, and I can’t stop tugging on my fiancee’s shirt and telling him that I have an agent, to which he replies: Good. Make me a million dollars so I can quit working and be a stay-at-home husband.

Oh, dear boy.

This has made me all-the-more excited for RWA10, even if I don’t have anything to pitch anymore! Well, I do have my historical novel to pitch, so maybe I can just concentrate on that.

As you can see, I’ve been posting pieces from my current WIP, which is a historical erotica. I am enjoying writing it (finally), and wrote a whole 4k words yesterday alone, thereby reaching my 10k mark. It feels like I have such a long way to go, but as long as I keep up with the pace I’m on, I think I should be okay.

I hope you enjoyed a post that is not an excerpt for once, and I guess I will catch you on the flip side of the conference! Oh, and enjoy an image from my recent trip to Florence and Rome!

Happy writing!

