Week One: The Outline and Act I
Day 1: Coming Up with a One Sentence Premise

Okay, so I sort of cheated with this one, since I came up with my premise yesterday. Problem is, now I am totally doubting it. It’s not that it isn’t good, it is, but it will be my first time venturing into this genre (YA), and I’m having a case of the jitters. What if I start this thing, and I can’t finish it? Will I be angry with myself for giving up?

It’s funny, because along with week one, Dr. Schmidt (in her book Book in a Month) provides a mantra: How do I make this work? That question has been running through my mind since I wrote down my premise. How am I going to make this work? Why was I so excited about the premise of this book until I wrote it down and started the forward motion?

If you are doing this along with me, then you should be concentrating on those two things. First, your premise — you need to sum up in just one sentence what your book will be about. Not only will this help you with keeping your book on track, but it will also help you pitch the book in the future. At Hopkins, if we couldn’t summarize our short stories or novels in one sentence, then we knew that we had to go back and rework the story.

Then, you have the mantra. How are we going to make this work? Somehow. And if it doesn’t work out, well then…I’ll have 50,000 words of something when this month is done. Hopefully, it is something good.

