Week 1, Day 3: At-A-Glance Outlines

Holy smokes there’s a lot to do for today. Our objectives are four-fold. First, we are using our ten scenes to create an at-a-glance draft. Then, from that draft, we are developing a more detailed outline. We are also keeping notes on what we’ll need to research for our manuscript (in my case, that’s a lot)…and finally…writing! Yay!

So again, I am following Dr. Schmidt’s Book in a Month, and for day three, she talks about an “At-a-Glance Outline” which is exactly how it sounds. Now, I’m not particularly an outliner by nature, or rather, I guess I do outline, but in an extremely messy way. But, as Dr. Schmidt writes, “…it is much easier to rewrite an outline than to rewrite an entire manuscript” (85).

Because the worksheet for this is longer and more involved, I’m not going to rewrite it here. That, and I’d really love for you to go out and get her book and work alongside my journey, and if I write it all up here, someone out there is not going to be happy…mainly Dr. Schmidt, probably. Haha.

So concentrate on outlining today, and if you haven’t already written something up for your Act I, then start writing! I’ll share a blurb of what I wrote yesterday:

Two years later, on Ismene’s thirteenth birthday, the family finally prepared to go on their journey to Sparta. The trip changed the dynamic of many different things, the first and foremost being who would rule the kingdom in Creon’s wake. The king took aside both Polynices and Eteocles and held a formal meeting with them in the war room. Ismene was invited to sit in, if only because Creon knew the calming effect she had on her brothers’ all-too-volatile emotions.

Seated at a table wide enough to lay maps across, Ismene’s brothers both watched Creon like a falcon stalking down a mouse in a field of grain.

“I’ve decided, Your Highnesses, that while I am away, you will both occupy the seat of Thebes. Equally. I have assigned one of my commanders to act as your advisor, and he should be used for whatever advice you might need.” Creon didn’t sit down, but instead circled around the table, pretending as if he was now the one who stalked its prey. “He has been given specific instructions when it comes to your joint ruling. If you do not abide by the guidelines I’ve set out for you, then you will be less likely to ever sit on the throne again. Do you understand?”

Polynices sneered. “You cannot ban us from sitting on a throne that is ours in the begin with.”

“I can do what I wish, young one, as I am king.”

Ismene didn’t have any questions to ask, that, and it wasn’t her place to talk during such meetings. As a woman, she had little say in the affairs of the state, especially as the youngest child of the three who came before her. Her opinions were merely words that would be better off spoken to her dolls – if she still had them. Antigone packed the poppets away in the morning. She said that thirteen-year-olds don’t play with dolls and that would be the end of it.

