Aftertime (Aftertime, #1)Aftertime by Sophie Littlefield
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t usually read “zombie” books, but when I got my hands on Aftertime, something told me to go for it. Good thing I did, because I couldn’t put it down. Littlefield’s heroine, Cass, is complex but likeable in her journey to find her daughter, Ruthie, after an apocalyptic event. I loved all the layers to Cass; she kept me flipping the pages to see what she’d do next.

In addition to her wonderful use of characterization, Littlefield’s knack for world-building is simply amazing. Her setting is both clear and followable, and she does so without info-dumping and drowning the reader in background, as some dystopians tend to go.

I give Aftertime a five star rating because not only did it introduce me to a new genre, but the story resonated long after the book was done, and I’m forever thankful that I can follow Cass’s journey through the next book, Rebirth.

View all my reviews

